Just unpacked my bags from my travels in EQ2 and now I have wings!

For the last month Sep-Nov I have been playing EQ2 courtesy of a friend who graciously gave me a spare account he had lying around. It meant that I did not have to buy a new account. Interesting thing about EQ2: the second you buy an account you also get ALL the expansions for the game free. EQ2 had TONS of expansions, 5 I think up to this point.

The first really addictive MMO

This gives you a HUGE amount of content to play through and I wanted to see how the baby of the first MMO I ever played had grown up. I spent 4 years in EQ1, was on a raid when my first kid was born. I still remember shouting in game, OFF I GO TO THE HOSPITAL! in the raid, memories πŸ˜‰

Made a new character in EQ2, a necromancer, I always play either pet classes and/or healers. Enjoyed my time in EQ2 but ultimately a very lonely journey. Guild text can only sustain you so long while you adventure through a world populated only by NPCs. Don’t get me wrong, there are many players, just all on their top level characters, a long way off from the starting zones I was in.

Decided to call it quits when I got into one group in the whole month. Just one month’s sub spent, thanks to my friends.

I then found out that I had a digital collector’s edition hiding in my NCsoft account menu! Imagine that, no idea where it came from, probably something to do with my long standing account with City of heroes.

I packed my bags and waved bye-bye to the helpful folks in my EQ2 guild and moved on to Aion, an MMO that I now have 37 free days of play time, hey, why not!

The prettiest MMO I have ever played.

Ahhh Aion, what an entrancingly beautiful game! This is by far the MMO with the best graphics I have ever seen. I got a client from a friend close to where I stay and started playing. The world is very populated, hundreds of people running around in newbie zones, it is awesome! Blazed through levels 1-15 at a breakneck speed, which I hear is pretty fast. Soon I saw why. From 15+ things slowed down a lot and all the nice quests started fading away. Soon the grind became evident.

I must admit, I actually enjoyed having only 5 buttons to push in combat, a welcome break from 3 quickbars full of buttons to press. Combat is a joy, it is hard and challenging. I soon noticed that the majority of my quests at my current level (28) have become 1/10 repetition. Basically go kill 10 of this mob, come back, get xp and coin, go and do it again for 2/10. If you do it 10/10 you get extra xp . I have no idea why the devs couldn’t just have made it, kill 100 mobs and come back for mega xp, sure would have cut down on the travel time.

Grouping in Aion happens in instances usually and these instances have long cooldowns. So when I wanted to group I had to wait for a 12 hour cooldown on the first instance, bummer.

Look, the game is amazing in graphics, great polished game play but the grind (which is why I never even started playing it) starts to get to you. There is only so much you can stomach killing 10 mobs 1/10 times in a really beautiful backdrop.

I wanted to returno Azeroth to witness the Cataclysm anyways. No tourist stop would be complete without a view of a major disaster in an MMO world ;-). My only issue is that I read that WoW has become World of PatchCraft and that patches are over 1GB.Β  My next mission was to find a client, which is now at a bloated 25GB. I wanted to get into Azeroth before the expansion, just to see what Blizzard is going to do as a lead up. Hopefully by tonight I will be in Azeroth again!

2 Responses to “Just unpacked my bags from my travels in EQ2 and now I have wings!”

  1. Magnarmalok Says:

    Regardging Wow:Cataclysm, you can just go and buy the disc’ on release day and then install. You’ll be pretty much updated.

    • boerewors Says:

      @Magnarmalok: Yeah, I read that as well somewhere! Friends of mine have offered to pay for the expansion. All I have to do is figure out the best way for them to pay for it from all the way in the UK πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

